Rule of the week #8 Replacing a ball on the putting green

Hi All

The old rules stated that if your ball was moved by a player or an outside agency after it had already been lifted and replaced on the green, you would have needed to return and place your ball on its original spot.

An outside agency  includes an animal, natural or artificial object, a referee, a marker (scorer), an observer and a forecaddie.  Neither wind nor water is an outside agency. (Now called “outside influence”)

The new rule states that  if your ball moves from it’s spot after lifting and replacing it,  even if it was blown by the wind or moved for no clear reason,  the ball must  be replaced on its original spot.

If your ball has not been lifted and replaced and it moves from it’s original spot, the ball must be played from its new position.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.