Rule of the week # 7 – Embedded ball

Hi Ladies,

The old rule stated that you were only allowed relief when your ball was embedded in it’s own pitch-mark in “areas cut to fairway height or less”.

Now you may take relief by dropping your ball within one club length of the spot in the relief area without penalty for an embedded ball anywhere in the “general area” which is the new term for “through the green”. The general area is the whole area of the course with the exception of the tee box, putting green and all of the penalty areas. “If your ball is embedded on the green, you may mark the spot of your ball, lift and clean it, repair the damage, and replace your ball on it’s original spot”. Page 100 and 101 in your USGA rules book covers this  with pictures!


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.